Options are just an Option

Sometimes, it is good to have an option, but sometimes, it gives you a hard core headache.

I ditched work today, as I went for another job interview. I am at the moment being trained in the corporate world, while, I was hired to be part of the government.

This may sound weird, why would I still find a job if I already got one? Why resign in the middle of training yet take training in different field?

It was a hard core yet no expectations interview. I knew and had the idea that working for the government would entail loads of patience, determination and motivation to finish one task after another. While on the corporate, they give you the liberty to work for them, have their name in your cv and voila! Your cv weighs pretty much heavier than the first time you sent it out to head hunters.

What made me think of shifting gears?

It may sound absurd, but, I thought of setting down in terms of my career. I love traveling, and working with the community, engaging with people, but things doesn’t work the way I thought it would be. It was a tough, exciting, challenging and full of dynamism work that awaits me, not because of the “government work” but because, I see where my parents are coming from. It is practically not about the numbers in the salary that makes you a better individual, and not in the prefixes that you have in your name, but, it is how do people see, appreciate and respect you no matter what. Yes, there are several negative stigmas/branding/tags about working in the government, but instead of moaning why not take the small steps towards the goals that you really want?

Too Chatty or just being Honest?

I love to talk and that is one thing that is unique from me. I can talk anything under the sun for the next 24 hours nonstop(just give me a glass of water 🙂 ). When I had my interview, it seems I’m just having a nice chat over a cup of coffee with a friend in a local coffee shop. I had the guts of saying that I have plans with a fellow of establishing a business which would help the local/s to be competitive if not to be at par with the local market. The current employment/job/career that I have is pretty much related with the upcoming one, and I must admit, it is not my cup of tea, but I’ll try, not because of the “name and credentials”, but because of the experience to cherish.

Leave a Reply

