Tour de Manile (Part 2)

Have a break, grab a drink!

To be honest, I am not feeling well when I woke up this morning and had breakfast with my counterpart (both of us woke up by 8am?) and a family member joined us, even asking me how to get to my hometown, what will be the bus routes and etc. Since I was with counterpart, I told her about the plan of this fam member to go to my hometown; and guess what? We had this idea of ditching the team meeting and the preparations for the fun run, because we were branded already as the lazy and lame host home counterparts.

We’re not lame, we’re just chillin

I think (and HHC thinks) working in the community is like having a nice drink in a nice and fancy bar- all you have to do is ‘bang on it’ rather than staring at it as if it is a dream that needs to be come true. We are not in Cabiao, to change it in a snap! We are in Cabiao to help them to be resilient and prepared in terms of ‘disasters’ not really acting as experts in DRRM but rather to bring positive impact to get the ‘youth’ to partake in this ‘hype’ on development world.

Moving forward(not backward nor sideways 🙂 ) since we were buzzing on going to someplace where we can find tranquility, silence, peace, away from the group nor the team (not from people of Cabiao) but from the ‘managers’, we went out of Cabiao as if we were doing a backpacking thing.

Go now, plan later

We always have this idea/s of doing things spontaneously(who really cares if we planned it or not?) like an ‘out-of-the-box’ attitude whenever we want to do things which would not include the team or even a larger group of friends. I think it worked this way for us because no one is dominating someone on doing something, just like having a nice rice bowl over soy sauce. 🙂

The Spontaneous itinerary

Basically we had this idea of going to my hometown-Cavite which was roughly a four or more hour of travel. While nearing to the bus terminal in Manila, we just decided to have a nice cup of coffee with my dad roam around the metro, take train rides, bus, or even jeepney rides and stroll around-like a child in search for a nice candy shop.

We decided as well to buy our costumes for the fun run around the shops within the business district. Looking for a nice costume really stresses me out! Why do I need to participate in such event? I really don’t know- a tick of ‘out of the box’ perhaps? Counterpart saw how uninterested I was looking for a nice ‘costume’ yet she stayed her adrenaline/ bang it on attitude and we ended up with a nice one!

Indecisive before, yet till now

Yeah, I know for a fact how indecisive I am before the program and I think there are times that I just want to go with the flow? Yet, I am paired with a person who loves to push someone to do out of the box things even making an indecisive person to become a decisive one. We were at a nice Japanese restaurant (longing for a bowl of ramen), when she asked me if the price is a good one or a crappy one. I gave her the idea that another Japanese store is comparatively cheaper with unlimited rice! So we looked for it, after our ‘costume hunt’.

Since we were that flexible, we had salad, a bowl of noodles, a beer for our dinner in a nice korean restaurant.

Sounds fun? Yeah definitely

After our nice and balanced/healthy dinner we went to a nice bar at Greenbelt 3(I think? 🙂 ), she treated me for a drink and talked about random things (again as if asking how insects multiply? 🙂 ). I told her a couple of times that definitely I gonna miss her presence whenever  I go for a drink nor passing by the district. I will remember how silly we were roaming outside Cabiao, and doing things as if we are not part of the program- but as 2 individuals with pretty much the same attitude/personalities yet came from different side of the globe.

Rush hour in Manila

As much as possible we wanted this trip to be as discreet from all the members of the team. We found ourselves a tranquility out of urbanity, yet, we felt that it was unfair to let the team do its work. Honestly speaking as well, we were contemplating how we were able to ‘contribute’ to the team, and how well we are in handling our issues (in terms of ‘team work’ and beating the red light). Basically, we worried too much if we would be able to catch the last bus trip going to Cabiao. Every station counts, and every station nearing down to our station is like having a sip of every ‘drink’ that makes your mind at ease.

It was an awesome/perfect day for the two of us. Yes, we found ourselves in the middle of the metro, like exploring things in new perspectives yet, we don’t get used to the presence of each other. We kept on learning, we kept on acting like a child, a student, a teacher even a nurse (for quite sometimes 🙂 ), I think that is one of the fascinating things about life, you don’t have to live up the stigma nor the stereotype that every single individual would put on your name, it is more about how you appreciate the simple things, the simplicity of this world and not on the complexities that we always put in it.

Leave a Reply

